Congratulations to Berkeley Water Center affiliates Susan Hubbard, Associate Laboratory Director of the Earth & Environmental Sciences Area, on being elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and College of Natural Resources Professor David Zilberman on being elected to the National Academy of Sciences, in recognition of their outstanding achievements in original research.

Hubbard, Associate Laboratory Director of the Earth & Environmental Sciences Area and senior scientist at Berkeley Lab, is a leading expert in quantifying the hydrological and biogeochemical behavior of environmental systems. She is being recognized for her research in developing new geophysical approaches that have provided new insights about processes relevant to contaminant remediation, carbon cycling and water resources – insights that are helping us tackle some of the most pressing challenges of our time. Hubbard is also an adjunct professor in the Department of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management at UC Berkeley.

The American Academy of Arts and Sciences is a prestigious, 239-year old honorary society that recognizes accomplished scholars, scientists and artists in academia, the humanities, arts, business, and government. The Academy also serves as a nonpartisan research center focused on addressing the nation’s greatest scientific and social problems through cross-disciplinary collaboration of its expert members.

Zilberman, Robinson Chair of in the Department of Agricultural and Resource Economics, develops economic models to understand fundamental problems in agriculture, economics and policy and is the recipient of the 2019 Wolf Prize in Agriculture.

He brings the total number of living UC Berkeley faculty who are members of the National Academy of Sciences, one of the most distinguished scientific organizations in the country, to 135.

Established in 1863, the National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that, along with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine, provides science, engineering and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.